But now it’s just Electronic…

2010 Ducati 1098...Whew!
"It's Gangsta because I'm on it!"

Music. It’s always been a part of me. Ever since I can remember I’ve loved it. Yeah I had my favorite artists growing up, but the best part was making my own. Thaz what made me love it. I’d carry notebooks with me wherever I went. Notebooks full of lyrics… I’d get in trouble cuz I’d be writing in school when I was supposed to be studying and in church when I was supposed to be listening… I remember arguing with my mom and sister who at the time gave that shit absolutely ZERO credit, “These notebooks are gonna make me famous and y’all rich one day!” They’d laugh at me and I’d storm off to my room and close the door. I’m about to write some more. They’ll see soon enough.

My room was all about music. My wall was filled with pix and posters of artists. It looked like the Hard Rock Cafe or something. A bunch of memorabilia from concerts and autograph signings that I had gone to over the years covered the walls. The center of everything was my dad’s 1976 Sansui Stereo system. It was old and outdated with the big ass silver knobs, but man that joint sounded GREAT! It had 4 floor speakers and if I turned it up, they could hear that shit all the way in Carver Park! At the bottom it had a slot for records… I mean real records. Vinyl. My dad and mom had some real good music and I had been trying to get this thing in my room for years. I had 45’s of all the old Motown stuff. Temps, Marvin, Supremes, you name it. Moms was big on Motown and had all the singles. Pops was serious about raggae and jazz. I had every Bob Marley and the Wailers album and a bunch of jazz greats like Coltrane, Bird Parker and Miles Davis… Miles Davis. Now this guy had an effect on me… It was this one particular album that I played particularly more than the others. Something about it I loved but I couldn’t really put my finger on it u know?  I’m a lyricists and there were no lyrics. I listened to his horn and understood it tho… So much so that I could hum the parts note for note. This album was a classic called “Kind of Blue”

Since those days as we all know I’ve been blessed to do this music thing for a living and everything has come full circle. When I went solo I set on a mission to make a different brand of R&B. I knew it’d prolly keep me outta mainstream radio and TV, but if I can’t watch/hear myself and feel good about what I’m doing then whats the use anyway? I went into my first album with just that mindset. I got a lotta fans today because of that decision. Against advice and all odds I did me and continued to do me until this day.

But now it’s just Electronic…

Out with the old and in with the new right? Fuck talent man! It’s 2009! Go buy a laptop and Frooty Loops and u are a certified producer! Buy the right sound program and u are now a singer! Even if u cant carry a note in a backpack YOU CAN STILL BE A STAR!!! LOL! I remember producing a joint on a certain artist that asked me “Are u sure that’s me?” after hearing all the pitch correction and editing that I had done. This thing has changed… What is my “Old School” ass gonna do about it? I learned this game from OG’s. Cameo, The Commodores, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier, and Kashif… Google these cats and you’ll see what I mean. These were the first people I worked with in this game. I remember Kashif showing me the first Pro Tools prototype when I was a kid. He said “TQ, this is gonna change music. Get it all while u can kid…” Boy was he right…

Cuz now it’s just Electronic…

Yes it is. Dance music, Techno, and Trance have invaded black music. There is a serious mesh going on around the world that I don’t think anyone saw coming. The club in LA sounds more and more like the club in London or Paris these days. It’s fresh and new and people are back to actually having fun in the club. Either everybody is coked completely out of their minds or DJ’s got their fingers on it… Either way I’m having a fuckin ball at the club right now. Check my Facebook page if u don’t believe me… LOL!

I’ve never been the man for club music… prolly cuz I never really tripped off being in there. Been hittin’ the club since I was 16 in LA so I’d pretty much seen and done it all. I’d rather focus on life in Music. U gotta have listeners for Life Music tho… Not just fans, but listeners. People ain’t really into listening these days for the most part. Maybe they don’t have the time. Maybe they have so much other shit going on that music is now used for straight up entertainment. No more therapy. People don’t wanna think. They just wanna move! Ok… I get it…

But…

Even if it’s Electronic… It’s gangsta because I’m on it.

Thaz right. I don’t change. I shoot from the hip. I only deal with the real… I will forever be a street poet. I will always tell u the truth about life as I see it. I’m not doing G funk but I’m not wearing skinny jeans and pink shirts either. I make music for the World and not for everybody. Put me in the rap section all u want… I’m a singer. Period. I represent Compton, California cuz thaz where I was raised. Sound familiar? I does cuz it is… It’s still me. Forever the oxymoron.

LOL!

There will be some things on my new album that u have never heard from me. From the production to the lyrical content, I’m definitely stretching further than I ever have on this one. From real life events to hustler anthems. Love songs and Hate songs too… Club joints and straight up nasty sex music. This album “Kind of Blue” has it all… And I’m putting as many as I can fit on a CD. You will get more songs on this album than u ever have and that’s a promise.

But for now it’s just Electronic… Literally. LOL!

My new single “Electronic” is about to smash the net TODAY.  All my DJ friends will have this record real soon so REQUEST IT AT THE CLUB! We got a hot remix by P-Rida featuring my man Tha Vill who rocked it, and another from Glasgow’s own Tigerstyle. A Funky House mix from DJ Mappa and a Sonny Ji version as only he can do it. Are u ready? Yeah? Well let’s make it official…

Check out the World Premiere of the video for the 1st Single from my forthcoming Album “Kind of Blue”…

This is Electronic. Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=keecMz3V6Jg

WESTSIDE4LIFE!


2 thoughts on “But now it’s just Electronic…

Leave a comment